Like This, Read That, Lists

If You Like Gilmore Girls, Read…

gilmore_girlsJust under one week from today, it will be October 1st. And do you know what happens on October 1st? All seven seasons on Gilmore Girls become available for streaming on Netflix. So…you know what I’ll be doing next Wednesday (I’ll also be ordering Chinese take-out). In the meantime, before you can catch up with Rory and Lorelai, here are a few (or nine) books that have a bit of a Gilmore Girls feel.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple. The story of the eccentric Bernadette her daughter Bee – humorous family dysfunction and a lot of heart.

Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons. β€œOne of the disadvantages of almost universal education was the fact that all kinds of persons acquired a familiarity with one’s favorite writers. It gave one a curious feeling; it was like seeing a drunken stranger wrapped in one’s dressing gown.” I feel like this is something that Rory would think (it’s weird to (seemingly) be referring to myself in the third person).

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Small town life featuring a quirky family, with charming wit and dialogue with one handsome and staid suitor (think Dean) and one handsome yet devious suitor (Jess).

The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown. Three women, sisters in this case, who love each other, but don’t like each other very much. And there’s nothing books can’t solve.

Empire Falls by Richard Russo. Set in a small Maine town and featuring quirky characters within the town, the novel focuses on the close-knit relationship between single father Miles and his teenage daughter (who loves book). Miles runs the town diner.

What to Read if You Like Gilmore Girls

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg. I haven’t read this one, but it was recommended by Katie at Words for Worms (also an avid Gilmore Girls fans) and Catherine at The Gilmore Guide to Books (who has never seen the show!).

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. The pop culture references.

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. Small town life, witty observations, and complicated romance.

Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts. A pregnant teen, with no family support, finds herself making a home in a town filled with quirky, well-meaning citizens. Suggested by Andi over at Estella’s Revenge.

What books would you recommend for fan of Gilmore Girls?

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

  • http://52booksorbust.wordpress.com tanya (52 books or bust)

    I’m really glad you put The Weird Sisters on this list. It’s on my TBR Pile Challenge for this year, and yet I can’t bring myself to read it. One person made one negative comment about it and I was convinced I wouldn’t like it. Not so anymore. Thanks.

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      There were a few issues I had with the book, but overall I liked it.

  • http://consumedbyink.wordpress.com Naomi

    Fun idea for a list! The Gilmore Girls is one show that I watched from beginning to end (and I’m sure there could be others, but after the giant hangover from this one, I haven’t let myself do it again). I have never heard of The Weird Sisters, but it sounds good so I looked it up, and it looks like people either love it or hate it. What did you think of it?

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      I liked it. There were parts that irritated me (the author really beats you over the head with Shakespeare, subtlety is not a bad thing!), bot overall I liked it. It’s also a tad melodramatic, but I like family dramas.

  • http://literarylindsey.com Lindsey

    I love this list! I’ve been re-watching the series again here and there. It just never gets old. :)

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      It doesn’t. Being witty and well read just doesn’t go out of style.

  • http://fortheloveofwords.net Bonnie @ For the Love of Words

    October 1st I plan on calling in to work. hahaha

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      I. Wish.

      As it is, I have big plans for when I get home from work (Wednesday is my version of Friday, and I full intend to break out the Chinese, wine, and yoga pants – hot night.)

  • http://www.lovelybookshelf.com Monika @ Lovely Bookshelf

    I’ve never seen Gilmore Girls but this is still an awesome list (as always!).

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      Thank you! And the show has ALL THE BOOKS. Admittedly, one of the reasons I loved it as a teenager was that the main character shared my name. I can be easy to please.

  • http://agoodstoppingpoint.wordpress.com Christy

    Well, there goes my upcoming free time. Years ago, I got as far as the first season and a half of Gilmore Girls. I did enjoy it, but for some reason got sidetracked from going further. And since that time, I haven’t had easy access to watching it. But now I will.

    A lot of my favorite books on that list: P&P, Cold Comfort Farm, I Capture the Castle.

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      That was my first thought when I heard the news “…Well, I guess I know what I’m doing in October.”

      Seasons 1-6 are terrific, and 7 is worth watching, but it’s not quite the same.

  • http://wordsforworms.com Words for Worms

    Woooo! Fannie Flagg would love Stars Hollow, I’m telling you! Babette and Miss Patty? Sigh. Good thing I’ve got all 7 seasons on DVD as I don’t have Netflix!

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      And really, it’s even better because you don’t have to worry about your spouse trying to steal all you bandwidth, causing your show not to load.

  • http://www.caffeinatedlife.net Lianne @ caffeinatedlife.net

    Love your list! Many of these books I’ve either read and enjoyed (The Weird Sisters, P&P), or are on my to-read (Where’d You Go Bernadette) list, or I hope to read at some point (Cold Comfort Farm) :)

    I have the first 3 seasons of the show on DVD, was in the mood for Gilmore Girls the other year (or was it last year?). Good times xD

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      I’m glad to see someone else who likes The Weird Sisters!

      Gilmore Girls is good anytime!

  • http://www.therelentlessreader.com/ Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    I’ve never watched Gilmore Girls which feels like some sort of crime in this community πŸ˜‰ I definitely plan on devoting a bunch of free time to doing so when it hits Netflix! Thanks for the recs…just what I need! (Ha!)

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      It is a crime, but I will forgive you once you’ve rectified it. Although to be honest I started watching it because I shared a name with the character.

  • Pingback: A Selection of Great Blog Posts September 2014 | Consumed by Ink()

  • http://fromisi.wordpress.com/ Isi

    Can you belive I haven’t watched this TV series? I’ve seen lists of Gilmore reads all over the place, but I think I should watch the show first πŸ˜‰

  • http://booksspeakvolumes.com Leah @ Books Speak Volumes

    I may have already watched the first 13 episodes since yesterday πŸ˜›

    Great picks — Bernadette is such a good one. Quirky, mother/daughter relationships… perfect!

  • http://www.writereads.wordpress.com Tania

    Thank you for this list AND for letting me know Gilmore Girls was coming to Netflix!! :)

  • http://www.thebookwheelblog.com Allison @ The Book Wheel

    I have The Weird Sisters and this post made me move it up my list. Also, I’m watching Gilmore Girls as I write this :)

    • http://fourthstreetreview.com/ Rory

      Yay!

%d bloggers like this: